City Council


The Aliso Viejo City Council meets the 1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month at 6 p.m. for Closed Session and 7 p.m. for the public Business Session in Council Chambers.

Elected Officials

Mayor: Phil Tsunoda
Mayor Pro Tem: Bill Phillips
Council Member: Ross Chun
Council Member: Dave Harrington
Council Member: Mike Munzing

City Council Elections

Elections for City Council seats are held on the first Tuesday in November of even-numbered years, coinciding with state and national elections. Council Members are elected to a four-year term. Council Member terms are "overlapped," meaning that each election fills either two or three open seats.

Selection of Mayor

The City's Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem are selected at the first meeting of each December to serve a one-year term beginning Jan. 1. These positions are filled by sitting Council Members by a vote of the majority of members.

Links to City Council meeting agendas & minutes are available by clicking here. Agendas are also available by calling the City Clerk's office at 949-425-2505.